Review: Turbulent Desires – Melody Anne

Review: Turbulent Desires – Melody AnneTurbulent Desires
Author: Melody Anne
Series: Billionaire Aviators #2
Published by Montlake Romance
Published on: November 8th 2016
Pages: 271
Narrator: Teri Clark Linden
Length: 8 hours and 23 minutes
Genres: Contemporary Romance
textspace_1485278947_fa95262b
Hero: Maverick Armstrong
Heroine: Lindsey Helm

textspace_1485286607_b6581576

ER nurse Lindsey Helm used to be strong. Then a late-night attack at the hospital nearly killed her and left two close colleagues dead. Now Lindsey has retreated from the world. She knows she needs to move on, but every hint of danger seems threatening—including a certain sexy flyboy who’s determined to show Lindsey what she’s missing. But falling for F-18 pilot Maverick Armstrong is a risk she can’t afford…
Maverick knows that fear can eat away at the soul, and he won’t leave Lindsey to that fate. She needs someone to reach her and to remind her of the exhilaration and unbelievable passion of being touched. He’ll help her heal, and then he’ll walk away. He has to walk away. Because Maverick swore he would never fall in love and never marry. But this is a rescue operation, and Maverick will stay the course—even if things get hazardous. Even if saving Lindsey means surrendering his heart in the process…

 

 

 

 

 

textspace_1485286734_57e165f8

Safety Level: Safe. No mention of other men or other women
Cliffhanger: No on the romance. Yes on the general series arc.
Ending: HEA 

I really enjoyed the first book, so I was excited to read this book. The first part of the book was really compelling. I couldn’t stop reading at all because I wanted to know what happened to the heroine, how she dealt with the tragedy, and how it would eventually lead her to the hero. Like the first book, the main characters had a one-night stand over a year ago, but nothing came out of it. They went their separate ways. The hero did try to pursue her, but the tragedy already happened, so the heroine was in no place to be with anyone for a while.

I second half of the book dragged. It started out really great, but the pacing slowed down significantly. I understand that it was done to show the readers the things the hero did that helped the heroine’s complete recovery. However, I can’t help it if I felt like it moved glacier-like. Another thing that I didn’t enjoy with this book was that the conflict and the ending was anti-climactic. There wasn’t much evidence that supported the hero’s reluctance to commit. I mean, if he didn’t intend to the relationship somewhere else other than a few hot nights and amazing dates, then he really shouldn’t have started anything with the heroine at all.

I liked the heroine, but Maverick was a miss for me. I hope that the remaining two brothers will restore my faith in these Armstrong men.

 

 

 

 

 

textspace_1485286767_369619e9

Melody Anne is a NYT best selling author of the popular series: Billionaire Bachelors, Surrender, Baby for the Billionaire, Unexpected Hero’s, Billionaire Aviators, and some solo titles. I have a Young Adult Series; Rise of the Dark Angel.

As an aspiring author, I wrote for years, then published in 2011, finding my true calling, and a love of writing. Holding a Bachelor’s Degree in business, I love to write about strong, powerful, businessmen and the corporate world.

When I’m not writing, I spend time with my family, friends, and many pets. A country girl at heart, I love the small town and strong community I live in and am involved in many community projects.

To date, I have over 7 million book sales and have earned a spot on multiple best seller lists, including NYT’s, USA Today, WSJ, being an amazon top 100 bestselling author for 3 years in a row, as well as a Kobo and iBooks best seller. But beyond that, I just love getting to do what makes me happy – live in a fantasy world, 95% of the time.

Leave a Reply

