Review: Debt – Jessica Gadziala

Review: Debt – Jessica GadzialaDebt
Author: Jessica Gadziala
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Published on: July 5th 2016
Pages: 306
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
textspace_1485279049_2ce58f06
Hero: Byron St. James

textspace_1485286607_b6581576

I was just supposed to be helping my father settle his debt, work out a payment plan, set things right.
Little did I know that cold, calculating, dangerous Byron St. James didn’t want his money back. Oh, no. He wanted me as payment…
* This is a ‘jerk who redeems himself’ story. And make no mistake, our hero IS a jerk to the heroine for a good part of the book. If that isn’t your thing, this might not be the book for you.

 

 

 

 

 

textspace_1485286734_57e165f8

Safety Level: Not safe
Cliffhanger: No
Ending: HEA

This was my first Jessica Gadziala book. I read this some time last year because I saw it a lot on my newsfeed and the story made me curious. I didn’t regret a single thing. I definitely loved this book. It’s not as dark as the ones I’m used to, but the characters had a bit of depth and development throughout the book, which is way more than I’ve seen with many new authors I’ve tried.

See, here, everywhere I go, there’s new authors popping up endlessly. There’s tropes and fads in romance that produce dozens and dozens of the same types of stories from different authors. The books vary only in characters and setting and execution, but the plot is all the same. I’ve lived through the vampires, the doms, the billionaires, the bikers, the stepbrothers, whatever else actually became popular. And I’ve tried new authors as many times as I could. Lots of time, those gambles didn’t work for me. But this gamble on Ms.. Gadziala did.

Maybe it was because I was on the right mindset when I read the book. Maybe there was something about the characters that made it easy for me to connect with them. Maybe it’s because of the author’s writing style. Whatever it was, this book definitely ended up being a five-star read for me. Yes, the hero is a jerk. Yes, he manipulated lots of things. Yes, he had the heroine at a disadvantage. But you know what I enjoyed, I enjoyed watching him fall. I enjoyed watching them develop feelings. I enjoyed reading about the explosive chemistry. I enjoyed seeing how they evolved from the first page until the ending. I got lost in the story, I didn’t even think of finding faults anymore. After this book, I’ve been a constant fan of this author, and to this day, Debt is still my favorite from her.

 

 

 

 

 

textspace_1485286767_369619e9

Jessica Gadziala is a full-time writer, parrot enthusiast, and coffee drinker from New Jersey. She enjoys short rides to the book store, sad songs, and cold weather.

She is a big believer in snark, strong secondary characters, and bada$$ women.

She is very active on Goodreads, Facebook, as well as her personal groups on those sites. Join in. She’s friendly.

Leave a Reply

